An exciting new curriculum for 2018!

Our exciting new curriculum will be evolving over the coming months, and even years, as we introduce new ways of working in school, but we are very excited about the opportunities this will bring for our children. 


Our curriculum is based on three E’s: engagement, enquiry and enterprise.  By putting the ‘wow’ into our curriculum, we aim to maximise engagement for all, carefully structuring learning around key challenge questions, so that children have to do more thinking and finding things out for themselves.   We also aim to introduce some appropriate enterprise skills to promote children’s understanding of business, but also to add purpose and meaning to their learning.  All children will be involved in planning and organising an enterprise project, where they will have the opportunity to use a range of skills (e.g. conducting market research, marketing, planning, promoting, presenting, budgeting, problem solving and risk-taking to name a few). 


As well as our three E’s, seven values underpin, and run through, our curriculum; we will use a rainbow to represent these, and they will be known as ‘R Rainbow Values’.  These are: Responsibility, Resilience, Reasoning, Reflection, Resourcefulness, Respect and Risk-taking.  These values will be promoted through the curriculum, assemblies and everyday interactions. 


We are also thinking of ways in which we can make better use of our fantastic school grounds, inside and out, and will be introducing some Forest Schools Adventures in the summer term of 2018, as well as developing the grounds in a number of other ways.


Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives parents and carers confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

The EYFS aims to provide:

  • quality and consistency in all early years settings;
  • a secure foundation for all children for good progress through school and life;
  • partnerships between different practitioners;
  • partnerships between parents or carers and practitioners;
  • equality of opportunity for all children.


Areas of Learning

Your child will mostly be taught through games and play.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language;
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development;
  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world;
  • expressive arts and design.

File icon: pdf EYFS Guide for Parents [pdf 677KB] Click to download
File icon: pdf TOPIC OVERVIEW Reception [pdf 84KB] Click to download
File icon: pdf Early Learning Goals [pdf 258KB] Click to download

Class 1 (Year 1)

The children in Year 1 follow Key Stage 1 National Curriculum.

Class 2

The Year 2 children follow the Key Stage 1 National Curriculum, and the Year 3 children follow the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum.  Although they are different key stages, there is a natural progression in learning from KS1 to KS2, and learning is planned carefully to ensure the needs of all children are met. 

Class 3

The children in Class 3 follow the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum.

Class 4

The children in Class 4 follow the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum.